Can you get a mortgage loan while in a Chapter 13 Bankruptcy:

Here is a brief summary on getting a mortgage loan while in a Chapter 13 Bankruptcy:
 
You must have 12 payments paid into the Chapter 13 before you can apply for a mortgage loan.
 
The payments must be made on time for last 12 months or after 12 months if you have been in longer, so no late payments to the Chapter 13 while in it. 
 
You have to ask permission from the courts to seek a mortgage loan. They usually grants this. I have never not seen them grant it.
 
You have to qualify with the new house payment along with Chapter 13 payments and other debts listed on credit report. Debt to income ratios usually center around 31 and 43% respectively, meaning the new house payment should not be more than 31% of your gross monthly income and your total house payment and debts listed on credit report along with Chapter 13 payment should not be more than 43% of your total gross monthly income. 
 
Credit scores: Most FHA lenders I work with will want a 620 middle score. You have three fico scores from Experian, Equifax, and Transunion, and they throw out the high and low score and take middle score. For example, if you had a 598, 679, and 590 scores respectively for all three bureaus listed above, your qualifying score would be 598.
There are some FHA investors that I am set up with that will go down to 580, but I have seen in my past experiences 620 will get you a better deal and far greater chance of closing on your loan with FHA. 
 
Down payment: For FHA loans, you will need to have at least 3.5% down payment saved up. It is extremely hard to find a no money down loan program to get you approved for a mortgage while you are in a Chapter 13 plan. 
 
FHA and USDA are really the only two options that I know of that offer financing for a borrower with a current Chapter 13 Bankruptcy plan plan, so keep that in mind. 
 
Conventional loan program offered by Fannie Mae will not allow a mortgage loan for someone in a Chapter 13 Bankruptcy plan.
 
On USDA loans, it is possible to get 100% Financing after you have paid into the plan for 12 months with a good pay history. The credit scores needed for a USDA loan approval really need to be above 640 in my past experience in getting them approved. A lot of USDA lenders will say they will do down to 620, but it is very difficult getting them approved. Best to get your scores up to increase your changes in qualifying for a USDA loan. There is not much that difference in getting your scores up to that range if you are at a 620 score now. 
 
With USDA loans, they have income and property eligibility requirements that FHA does not have, so below is a rough run down of FHA vs USDA loan for you:
 

Typically, USDA-eligible properties are located in rural areas. It is a mistake, however, to think that you have to live far out in the country to qualify for a USDA loan. USDA-eligible properties are often located near urban areas.

A property’s eligibility is determined by its location with respect to USDA’s map of eligible locations. The USDA program also places limits on your household income based on median earnings in an area. If you exceed that limit, you can’t obtain a USDA loan.

The FHA, by contrast, does not place limits on household earnings. The FHA, however, does establish a maximum limit on the amount of money that can be borrowed through the program.

 

So if you were in a hurry to buy, after you have been in your Chapter 13 plan for 12 months, I can look at getting you approved to buy a home if you wish:
 
In order to get you pre-approved for your max loan amount, I will need the following items from you. This is a free process and I will give you a copy of your credit report for free!
 
 
Mortgage Pre-Approval Checklist
 
1.  Last 30 days worth of pay stubs
2.  Last 2 years W-2′s
3.  Last 2 years tax returns
4.  Last two months bank statements for all accounts including 401 k or retirement account  if you have one
 
____________________________________________
 
 
Once I get the information above, I can usually get you pre-approved in one day, and get your loan closed in 30-45 days after you get an accepted offer on a home. 
 
Your first house payment usually starts 30-60 days after you close.
 
Your loan pre-approval is usually good for 90 days.
 
I don’t need originals, copies are fine. You can fax or email  me the above documents,  or meet me face-to-face if you wish to make copies and go over your options.
 
Let me know your questions. 
 
Thanks and look forward to helping you. 
 
Joel Lobb
Mortgage Loan Officer
Individual NMLS ID #57916
 
American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.
10602 Timberwood Circle 
Louisville, KY 40223
Company NMLS ID #1364
 

Text/call:      502-905-3708

fax:            502-327-9119
email:
kentuckyloan@gmail.com
 
 

unnamed (1)KENTUCKY VA REFINANCE LOAN

If you have questions about qualifying as first time home buyer in Kentucky, please call, text, email or fill out free prequalification below for your next mortgage loan pre-approval.

Joel Lobb
Senior  Loan Officer

(NMLS#57916)


Text or call phone: (502) 905-3708

email me at kentuckyloan@gmail.com

http://www.mylouisvillekentuckymortgage.com/


The view and opinions stated on this website belong solely to the authors, and are intended for informational purposes only.  The posted information does not guarantee approval, nor does it comprise full underwriting guidelines.  This does not represent being part of a government agency. The views expressed on this post are mine and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer. Not all products or services mentioned on this site may fit all people

This web site is not the FHA, VA, USDA, HUD or any other government organization responsible for managing, insuring, regulating or issuing residential mortgage loans.

**Download Fair Housing Booklet – CLICK HERE

All approvals and rates are not guaranteed, and are only issued based on standard mortgage qualifying guidelines



Remember, we are even available this weekend for pre-qualifications or questions.  Call our cell phone or email us.  If you miss us, leave a message and we WILL call you back 

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Kentucky FHA loans after a bankruptcies, foreclosures, deeds-in-lieu of foreclosure, pre-foreclosures, short sales, and mortgage charge-offs.

Kentucky FHA loans after a significant derogatory credit events which include bankruptcies, foreclosures, deeds-in-lieu of foreclosure, pre-foreclosures, short sales, and mortgage charge-offs.

A Chapter 7 bankruptcy – MUST be discharged at least 2 years from Case Number Assignment Date. Requirements
include:
1. Complete Copy of Bankruptcy paperwork MUST be provided
2. Borrower must write a detailed explanation explaining the reason for the Bankruptcy
3. The Borrower must have re-established good credit; or chosen not to incur new credit obligations.
4. An elapsed period of less than two years, but not less than 12 months, may be acceptable, if the Borrower:
– Can show that the bankruptcy was caused by extenuating circumstances beyond the Borrower’s control; and
– Has since exhibited a documented ability to manage their financial affairs in a responsible manner.
– If a Chapter 7 is discharged less than 2 years from the date of Case Number Assignment Date the loan must be downgraded to Manual Underwriting and meet all requirements listed in HUD 4000.1 Handbook

 

Chapter 13 must be discharged ** Requirements include:
1. Complete Copy of Bankruptcy paperwork MUST be provided
2. Borrower must write a detailed explanation explaining the reason for the Bankruptcy
3. The Borrower must have re-established good credit; or chosen not to incur new credit obligations.
4. An elapsed period of less than two years, but not less than 12 months, may be acceptable, if the Borrower:
‐ Can show that the bankruptcy was caused by extenuating circumstances beyond the Borrower’scontrol; and
‐ Has since exhibited a documented ability to manage their financial affairs in a responsible manner.

5. If a Chapter 13 is discharged less than 2 years from the date of Case Number Assignment Date the loan must be downgraded to Manual Underwriting and meet all requirements listed in HUD 4000.1 Handbook

Foreclosure/Deed-in-Lieu
1. A Borrower is generally not eligible for a new FHA-insured Mortgage if the Borrower had a foreclosure or a DIL of foreclosure in the three-year period prior to the date of Case Number Assignment.
2. This three-year period begins on the date of the DIL or the date that the Borrower transferred ownership of the Property to the foreclosing Entity/designee.

Short Sale

1. A Borrower is generally not eligible for a new FHA-insured Mortgage if they relinquished a Property through a Short Sale within three years from the date of Case Number Assignment.
2. The three-year period begins on the date of transfer of title by Short Sale.

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Kentucky FHA Loan

FHA loans are good for home buyers with lower credit scores and no much down, or with down payment assistance grants. FHA will allow for grants, gifts, for their 3.5% minimum investment and will go down to a 580 credit score.

The current mortgage insurance requirements are kinda steep when compared to USDA, VA , but the rates are usually good so it can counteract the high mi premiums. As I tell borrowers, you will not have the loan for 30 years, so don’t worry too much about the mi premiums.

The mi premiums are for life of loan like USDA.

FHA requires 2 years removed from bankruptcy and 3 years removed from foreclosure.

Maximum FHA loan limits in Kentucky are set around $285,000 -$299,000 depending on the county in Kentucky

Joel Lobb
Senior Loan Officer
(NMLS#57916)

American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.
10602 Timberwood Circle, Suite 3
Louisville, KY 40223

text or call my phone: (502) 905-3708
email me at kentuckyloan@gmail.com

The view and opinions stated on this website belong solely to the authors, and are intended for informational purposes only. The posted information does not guarantee approval, nor does it comprise full underwriting guidelines. This does not represent being part of a government agency. The views expressed on this post are mine and do not necessarily reflect the view of my employer. Not all products or services mentioned on this site may fit all people. NMLS ID# 57916, (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). Mortgage loans only offered in Kentucky.
All loans and lines are subject to credit approval, verification, and collateral evaluation and are originated by lender. Products and interest rates are subject to change without notice.

Joel E Lobb
American Mortgage
5029053708
email us here

Some products and services may not be available in all states. Credit and collateral are subject to approval. Terms and conditions apply. This is not a commitment to lend. Programs, rates, terms and conditions are subject to change without notice. The content in this marketing advertisement has not been approved, reviewed, sponsored or endorsed by any department or government agency. Rates are subject to change and are subject to borrower(s) qualification.

Kentucky FHA, VA, USDA & Rural Housing, KHC and Fannie Mae mortgage loans.

BREAKING: HUD suspends FHA mortgage insurance premium cut

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That didn’t take long! BREAKING: HUD suspends FHA mortgage insurance premium cut

In first moments of Trump presidency, HUD makes it official: FHA mortgage insurance premium cut is suspended “indefinitely.”

The Department of Housing and Urban Development announced it suspended the reduction of Mortgage Insurance Premiums, effective immediately. HUD sent out an announcement just an hour after President Trump was sworn in on Friday, stating that the cuts have been suspended indefinitely. Click the headline for more.

Source: BREAKING: HUD suspends FHA mortgage insurance premium cut

Five strategies for first time home buyers Kentucky 2018

What You Need To Know About A Mortgage… BEFORE You Get One!!!

Qualifying for a Mortgage

Home LoansMortgage companies are in business to make money by lending money that is secured by an asset large enough to sell and recover their capital if the borrower is no longer able or willing to pay the payments. They are not in the business of owning property and would rather not have to foreclose on a loan, repossess the property and sell it to recapture their capital. This does happen but it is not their primary business. They would rather have their borrowers make their payments so that they could collect the interest and move on down the road. To increase their odds of that happening, mortgage companies look at several areas of your financial history to determine if you will meet their standards. This is called Qualifying for a Mortgage.

What the mortgage company finds when they look at these areas will help determine the type of mortgage that is available to you and the interest rate you will pay on the money that you borrow.

The areas that they are interested in looking at are:

Job History

Lenders want to know if you have been in your current job and/or profession for at least two years. They also want to know if you are retired or self-employed.

Income

TaxesMortgage lenders want to know how much your monthly income is before taxes are taken out (Gross Monthly Income). Typically you will be asked to provide check stubs for the last 30 days and Federal Tax Returns or W-2’s for the last two years to prove your income.

If you are self-employed and it is difficult for you to prove your gross income to the lender you may be able to get a “stated income” loan. If that is the route that you take, your income must be “reasonable” for your profession. Since stated income loans are riskier for the lender you will generally have a higher interest rate.

Credit History

Mortgage lenders really like it if you have a history of paying your bills on time. This is reflected in your credit report and FICO score. If you have “bad credit”, you are NOT automatically disqualified from getting a mortgage. Lower credit scores will increase the interest rate that you will be required to pay and sometimes that increase will be quite significant.

Debt Load

You can have an awesome job with an income to make Bill Gates jealous and a great credit score but if you have already acquired too much long term debt you may not qualify for the loan you want.

Assets

Mortgage lenders will want to check your bank accounts to make sure that you have the cash necessary to pay the down payment and closing costs and that you have “reserves” available to make the loan payment. Often, the lender will require 3-6 months reserves. (Reserves can be in a 401K or other retirement account that you can pull the money out of)

Requested Loan Amount

The loan you are requesting will need to be proportional to your ability to make the payments. Be reasonable with your house buying expectations – don’t expect to buy a lot more house than you can afford. The recent housing bust defined the term “house poor” and got a lot of people into financial trouble. Again, mortgage lenders would much rather you make your monthly house payments because everyone loses if they have to foreclose.

Determining YOUR Mortgage Interest Rate

The market place determines the range of interest rates available for any mortgage and the lending rates change daily. The specific interest rate you will pay is based on how well qualified you are and the type of loan you want.

Interest rates are typically based on the answers to these questions:

How Good Is Your Credit Score? 

FICO ScoreThe most widely used score is the FICO score, the credit score created by Fair Isaac Corporation. Lenders use the FICO Score to help them make billions of credit decisions every day. Fair Isaac calculates the FICO Score based solely on information in consumer credit reports maintained by the credit reporting agencies.

FICO credit scores range from 300 to 850. That FICO Score is calculated by a mathematical equation that evaluates many types of information from your credit report, at that agency. By comparing this information to the patterns in hundreds of thousands of past credit reports, the FICO Score estimates your level of future credit risk.

With the top end of the credit score being 850, anything above about 720 is considered excellent. Some local lenders set 740 as the benchmark for their preferred interest rates. Having a lower credit score DOES NOT mean you will not get a loan. You may qualify BUT your interest rate will be higher than someone with better credit.

How Big Is Your Down-Payment?
The Down-Payment is the amount of your own money you are going to put into buying the property. The more money you put into the property on the front end, the lower the risk of you not paying the payments. The amount of your down payment also directly affects the amount of your loan (purchase price – down payment = loan amount). This is called the Loan to Value Ratio (LTV).

The LTV is the percentage of the value of the house that the mortgage will cover (loan amount / purchase price x 100). For example, the property you are interested in buying is selling for $100,000. You have $20,000 for the down-payment and want a mortgage for the other $80,000. The LTV for this mortgage is 80%.

Similar to the LTV is the Combined Loan to Value Ratio (CLTV). The CLTV is used when 2 loans are used to finance the home purchase. You may see or hear terms like “80-20” or “80-15-5”. This refers to the 1st lien percentage (80), the 2nd lien percentage (20 or 15) and the down payment percentage (5).

How Much Debt Do You Currently Have?

It only makes sense that the more debt you have the riskier the loan is for the lender. There is a finite amount of income in all of our households and it all gets allocated every month. Lenders use a “debt-to-income” ratio to determine how qualified you are for the loan based on how much debt you already have.

Your Debt to Income Ratio (DTI) is the percentage of your income that you owe in debt on a monthly basis. For example, if you make $5,000 per month, and have debt payments (car loans, credit cards, student loans, etc.) of $2,000, your DTI ratio is 40%. The higher this ratio is, the less likely you will be to qualify for a low interest rate.

Conventional loans typically have a qualifying ratio of 28/36. FHA loans will sometimes allow for a higher debt load of 29/41 qualifying ratio.

The first number in a qualifying ratio is the maximum percentage of your gross monthly income that can be applied to your mortgage. That includes the loan principal and interestprivate mortgage insuranceproperty taxeshomeowners insurance, and homeowner’s association dues.

The second number is the maximum percentage of your gross monthly income that can be applied to housing expenses and recurring debt. Recurring debt includes monthly payments for carsboatsmotorcycleschild support payments and monthly credit card payments.

 Example:  of a 28/36 qualifying ratio:

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .28 = $1400 can be applied to housing.

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .36 = $1,800 can be applied to recurring debt plus housing expenses

Example: of a 29/41 qualifying ratio:

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .29 = $1,450 can be applied to housing.

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .41 = $2,050 can be applied to recurring debt plus housing expenses

These are just general guidelines and everyone’s personal finances are unique.

 

Here is a KEY point to remember…

Your credit score is one of the most vital piece of information when qualifying for a loan and you can greatly affect it too. 

Below are the important items I will discuss:

  • What is a credit report?
  • What do mortgage lenders use to determine my credit score?
  • What does FICO stand for?
  • What determines my FICO score?
  • What’s a good FICO score?
  • What if my FICO score is below 620?
  • Can I get a copy of my credit report?
  • Ah Ha! Now I understand all things credit and I’m this much closer to owning my home!

What is a credit report?

A credit report record’s your credit history including information about:

  • Your identity: name, social security number, date of birth and possibly employment information.
  • Your existing credit: credit card accounts, mortgages, car loans, students loans etc.including credit terms, how much you owe, and your payment history.
  • Your public record: Judgments against you, tax liens or bankruptcies.
  • Recent Credit Inquiries: Requests for your information from companies extending credit such as credit card companies, auto loans, etc.

Be aware, credit card companies, car companies and mortgage lenders use slightly different models to determine credit risk. Today we are focusing on Mortgage related credit.

How do lenders calculate my credit score?

Your credit score is the key to your castle. Your home is most likely the most expensive purchase you will ever make. Therefore, when buying a home, lenders use a different system for assessing risk than credit card companies or even auto loan companies use.

Mortgage lenders use a comprehensive system of checking credit called a Residential Mortgage Credit Report (RMCR), commonly called a “Tri-Merge” report. The RMCR report combines your three credit reports from the three national credit bureaus, Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion. Each credit reporting agency calculates your credit score or FICO Score differently. Therefore, pulling from all three bureaus gives lenders a more complete picture of your credit behavior.

Once pulled, lenders use the average of these three scores, usually the middle score, to determine loan qualification and interest rate. For example, if Equifax gives you a 720, Experian a 730 and TransUnion a 740, the lender will use the 730 FICO Score to help determine the terms of your mortgage. If you are applying for a loan jointly, your partner’s three reports will also be pulled.

What does FICO stand for?

FICO stands Fair, Isaac and Company. Over 25 years ago, lenders began using FICO’s scoring model, or algorithm, to fairly and more accurately determine a person’s credit risk. Since it’s inception, FICO’s continually updates its’ algorithms to reflect more current lending trends and consumer behaviors. Today, FICO Scores are used by over 90% of enders. Importantly, your FICO score can impact your loan interest rates, terms, approvals and more.

What determines my FICO score?

A Mortgage FICO score is determined by an algorithm that generally looks at five credit factors including payment history, current level of indebtedness, types of credit used, length of credit history and new credit accounts.

What’s a good FICO score?

To qualify for a conventional loan, most Mortgage lenders require a FICO score of 620+. The best interest rates go to borrowers with a 740+ FICO score. For each 40 point drop, borrowers can expect to see a slightly higher interest rates by about 0.2 percentage points.  If a borrower drops below 660, the increase is likely to be twice as big, a 0.43 percentage point increase. If your credit score is below 620, it is very difficult to get a conventional loan in today’s marketplace. However, don’t be discouraged. You may still be able to buy a home.

Qualifying Credit Scores

What if my FICO or credit score is below 620?

If your score is below 620, you may still be able to buy a home. There are several options:

  • Put more money down. Some lenders offset a weak credit score with a higher down payment. A higher down payment gives you more equity in your home, lowering the lender’s risk.
  • You may qualify for a non conventional government issued loan such as an FHA, Veterans Affairs and/or U.S. Department of Agriculture loan which have less stringent lending requirements.
  • You may work to get that credit score up!
    • Correct any errors on your report. Analyze your credit items line by line. If you notice a mistake, dispute it right away with either the credit bureau providing the report or the company that providing the incorrect information to the credit bureau.
    • Make all your payments on time. Late payments are the No. 1 way to lower  your credit score.
    • Pay down revolving debt. Keeping your credit balances low helps to raise your score.
    • Sit back and relax. As long as you’re paying down debt and making payments on time, your credit score will eventually rise on its own.

Can I get a copy of my credit report after a lender has pulled it?

Yes! In fact, you can get one free credit report every twelve months from each of the nationwide credit bureaus—Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion. You may also purchase your credit score at any time from any of the credit bureaus. Some Mortgage lenders will tell you your score when you apply for a loan or even give you a copy of your report but they are not required to do so. However, if a lender denies you credit, under the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) you are entitled to a free copy of your personal credit report if you have received notice that in the past 60 days you have been declined credit.

You ALWAYS get a free copy of your credit report from me.

If you’re ready to buy a new home and want to shop around for the best deal on a mortgage…

Looking for a mortgage, auto or student loan may cause multiple lenders to request your credit report, even though you are only looking for one loan. To compensate for this, the score ignores mortgage, auto, and student loan inquiries made in the 30 days prior to scoring. So, if you find a loan within 30 days, the inquiries won’t affect your score while you’re rate shopping. In addition, the score looks on your credit report for mortgage, auto, and student loan inquiries older than 30 days. If it finds some, it counts those inquiries that fall in a typical shopping period as just one inquiry when determining your score. For FICO scores calculated from older versions of the scoring formula, this shopping period is any 14 day span. For FICO scores calculated from the newest versions of the scoring formula, this shopping period is any 45 day span. Each lender chooses which version of the FICO scoring formula it wants the credit reporting agency to use to calculate your FICO score.

What Type of Loan Are You Looking For?

40 year fixed, 30 year fixed, 20 year fixed, 15 year fixed, 10 Year Fixed, Adjustable Rate, etc. All of these loan types have different interest rate ranges.

Locking Your Interest Rate

Once you have completed a loan application, determined what type of loan you want and qualified for that loan you can “lock” the interest rate for that loan. Locking the Interest Rate means, for the period of the “lock” you are guaranteed that interest rate. Lock periods are typically 15, 30 or 60 days, although you may be able to get an extended lock period.

Once you lock your interest rate:

If you do not close on the loan before the lock period expires, you will NOT have a guaranteed interest rate anymore. And, the longer the lock period, the higher the rate will be. For example, a 15 day lock may be at 5.125%, a 30 day lock at 5.25%, and a 60 day lock at 5.375%. So, before locking your loan, be sure you are not locking for too long a time or for too short a time.

Interest rates fluctuate daily and may go up or down. By locking your rate, you are betting that rates will go up in the future.

 What does “Buying Down” the Interest Rate Mean?

You can reduce the interest rate on your mortgage by paying “points” at closing. A point is 1% of the value of the loan, so a point on a $200,000 loan is $2,000. If you “buy down” you loan to a lower interest rate you will have lower monthly payments and pay less interest over the life of the loan. However, “buying down” you loan to a lower interest rate means more money out of your pocket on the front end when you close the loan. You should do the math and weigh each side of the equation before making a decision about buying down the interest rate or not.

http://www.emailmeform.com/builder/form/0bfJs9b6bK8TGoc6mQk9hIu

 

What Are The Closing Costs and Fees?

There are four types of closing costs and fees…

Those charged by the mortgage company and/or mortgage broker, those charged by 3rd party vendors, those charged by the Title Company, Escrow Company or Escrow Attorney and Pre-Paid Charges.

Lender Fees

These can include loan origination fees and Broker fees which are usually a percentage of the loan amount; administrative fees and application fees, processing fees and underwriting fees. These last fees usually run from $100 to $500, and ALL of them are negotiable.

3rd Party Vendor charges

These are charges collected by the lender and paid to outside companies that provide a service. These are not usually negotiable and can include appraisal charges, flood certification fees, courier charges, document prep fees, mortgage lender attorney fees, etc.

Title Company charges

These are the fees charged by the Title Company, Escrow Company or Escrow Attorney. They are usually set by the state and are not negotiable. These charges include title insurance, attorney fees, state/county/city registration fees, etc.

Pre-Paid Charges

If the lender will be establishing an escrow account to pay taxes and insurance, the buyer will pre-pay taxes and insurance to establish an escrow account and will pre-pay the interest on the loan until the end of the month in which the loan closes.

 Does The Closing Date Really Matter?

The day you choose to close determines the amount of pre-paid interest you will have to pay. Closing at the end of the month means that you will pay less pre-paid interest. For example, if you close on October 1st you will pay 31 days of pre-paid interest. If you close on October 31st you will pay 1 day of pre-paid interest.

When Is My First Payment Due?

It doesn’t matter what day of the month you close on, you will not have your first loan payment due until a month has passed. So, if you close in October, your first payment is due in December – you get November for free!

What Is PMI?

Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) is required on all loans that have a LTV greater than 80%. PMI is an insurance premium that you pay every month as part of your monthly payment. However, PMI is not intended to protect you. PMI is insurance coverage that protects the mortgage lender against default on the loan. If you stop making your payments, the mortgage lender is paid a percentage of the loan amount (usually 25% to 35%) by the insurance company.

We suggest that our clients use a local mortgage lender and avoid the big banks. Local lenders provide excellent service, you talk to the same person throughout the loan process, if something is (or isn’t) happening with the loan they can easily check on it with someone right there in their office.

What Other Questions Do You Have?

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If you have mortgage questions, ask them in the comments section so others will get the answer too.

If you want a personalized answer for your unique situation call, text, or email me.

 

 

The view and opinions stated on this website belong solely to the authors, and are intended for informational purposes only. The posted information does not guarantee approval, nor does it comprise full underwriting guidelines. This does not represent being part of a government agency. The views expressed on this post are mine and do not necessarily reflect the view of my employer. Not all products or services mentioned on this site may fit all people. NMLS ID# 57916, (http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). Mortgage loans only offered in Kentucky.

 

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Labels: 100% Financing, 2017 KY First Time Buyer Programs, conventional loans, down payment assistance, fha, First Time Home Buyers, grants first time home buyer kentucky, kentucky va mortgage, khc, rhs, usda

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Posted By Blogger to Kentucky First Time Home Buyer Mortgage Loans

Kentucky First Time Home Buyer Loan Programs for FHA, VA, KHC, USDA, RHS, Fannie Mae Home Mortgage Loans in Kentucky for 2018

Financial expert Mark Lamkin explains the best way get your finances in order and start your search.

Source: Five strategies for first time home buyers

kmnj10kdap2017 00% Financing Zero Down Payment Mortgage Loans for Kentucky Home Buyers. For the first First Time Homebuyer, I hope you find this website educational and informative, giving you the confidence when buying your first Kentucky Home. USDA, VA, KHC, and FHA loans all offer $0 Down Home Loan Options-Text or Call for your free application 502-905-3708- Email Kentuckyloan@gmail.com Equal Housing Lender NMLS#57916. This website is not affiliated with any government agency.

unnamed-2 Joel Lobb Senior Loan Officer (NMLS#57916) American Mortgage Solutions, Inc. 10602 Timberwood Circle, Suite 3 Louisville, KY 40223 text or call my phone: (502) 905-3708 email me at kentuckyloan@gmail.com The view and opinions stated on this website belong solely to the authors, and are intended for informational purposes only. The posted information does not…

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Kentucky FHA Loan Requirements for 2018

Benefits and Drawbacks for an FHA Borrower

Kentucky HUD $100 Down FHA Program for 2018

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Kentucky FHA Loan Requirements

The requirements for Kentucky FHA loans are set by HUD.

  • Borrowers must have a steady employment history of the last two years within the same industry or line of work. Recent college graduates can use their transcripts to supplant the 2 year work history rule as long as it makes sense.
  • Self-Employed will need a 2 year history of tax returns filed with IRS. They will take a 2 year average.
  • FHA requires a 3.5% down payment. Can be gifted from family member or from retirement savings plan, or money saved-up. Any type of cash deposits are not allowed for down payments. No exceptions to this rule!! This is one of the biggest issues I see in FHA underwriting nowadays.
  •  FHA loans are  for primary residence occupancy. Not rental houses.
  • Borrowers must have a property appraisal from a FHA-approved appraiser.
  • Borrowers’ front-end ratio (mortgage payment plus HOA fees, property taxes, mortgage insurance, homeowners insurance) needs to be less than 31 percent of their gross income, typically. You may be able to get approved with as high a percentage as 43 percent. If the Automated Underwriting System gives you an Approved Eligible you can go higher on the debt ratios
  • Borrowers must have a minimum credit score of 580 for maximum financing with a 3.5% down payment
  • Borrowers must have a minimum credit score of 500-579 for maximum LTV of 90 percent with a minimum down payment of 10 percent. Most lenders will not go below 620 score, and very few lenders will go to 580 score. It’s best to work on getting your scores up before you apply or work with a loan officer to improve them.
  • 2 years removed from Chapter 7 is required with good pay history after bankruptcy
  • 1 year removed from Chapter 13 is okay with an excellent pay history with the Chapter 13 plan and permission from trustee. You will need to qualify with the Chapter 13 payment along with new house payment. Again, scores will play into your loan pre-approval.
  • Typically borrowers must be three years out of foreclosure and have re-established good credit. Exceptions can be made if there were extenuating circumstances and you’ve improved your credit. If you were unable to sell your home because you had to move to a new area, this does not qualify as an exception to the three-year foreclosure guideline.
  • Max FHA loan in Kentucky is between $275,000 to $299,000 depending on the county in Kentucky
    I can answer your questions and usually get you pre-approved the same day.

hud-100-incentive-program-fha-home-loan-group-1

  • Gift Rules for Down-Payment Sources Guidelines on FHA Mortgage Programs

    One of the biggest obstacles to buying a home for Americans is the down payment. There was a time when you needed a 20% down payment and a high credit score to buy a home. But in 2018, you can buy a home with average to below average credit and a low down payment in some cases. One of the most popular loan programs for these buyers if the FHA loan. A major advantage of the FHA mortgage loan is you can get approved with only a 3.5% down payment with a 580 or higher credit score. If you have a lower score than that, you need a 10% down payment.

    Still, there are situations where the borrower is having trouble coming up with the down payment for the loan. What to do then? FHA guidelines do allow other options. Keep reading to learn more.

    More on FHA Down Payments and Approved Sources

    As we note above, you are required to have at least a 3.5% down payment to be approved for an FHA loan. The money must be verified by the FHA-approved lender to come from an ‘approved source.’ What is an approved source, anyway? Most people get their down payment from cash reserves, investments, borrow from 401k or IRA, etc. The idea behind verifying where the money came from is to make sure the borrower did not get the down payment from a credit card or payday loan, etc.

    But there are other options for your down payment. The funds also can come from a gift. The gift and the giver do need to meet FHA requirements, but this flexible guideline makes it possible to get into an FHA loan with, technically, zero money down. To determine if the down payment gift can be used or not, it is necessary to check HUD rules. According to HUD 41.55.1 Chapter 5 Section B, for the funds to be a gift, there cannot be any expected repayment of the money.

    Also, FHA will scrutinize the giver of the gift. Chapter 5 of the HUD Code states the cash gift is ok if it comes from your relative; employer or labor union; close friend with a defined interest in you; charitable organization; government agency or public entity.

    FHA also states who cannot give gift funds to you for the down payment. These are the seller; the real estate agent or broker on the deal; the builder or an associated entity.

    Gift Terms Explained

    The gift for your down payment cannot be made based upon paying it back later. You are required to get a gift letter from the person or organization. The letter should state that you are not required to pay the money back. It also should provide the contact information for the borrower, such as name, address, and phone number. Also included should be the bank account from which the funds will be sent.

    The gift donor should be OK with giving a bank statement with the letter. Also, he or she should ensure that the transfer amount matches what is in the gift letter and what is deposited into your account.

    FHA rules are very specific on these areas to ensure that the home buying process through FHA is fair and just. But as long as you follow the FHA rules, you should be able to get help with your down payment from a friend or relative.

    Don’t Have Friends or Family Who Can Help?

    Not every borrower has friends or family who can give them a gift for their down payment. But HUD lists many government programs spread throughout the country in most states that can offer down payment and closing cost help for certain borrowers.

    It also is worth checking if your employer and state have employer assisted housing. This program can help people with moderate incomes to get a loan to cover closing costs and down payment. Look up EAH in your state on Google to see what is available.

    Experts say that down payment help is available for nearly 90% of homes in the US. There is a good chance that you can get help on your down payment through one of these organizations. References: https://www.fha.com/fha_article?id=441

  • Benefits and Drawbacks for an FHA Borrower
  • Call or Text me at 502-905-3708 with your mortgage questions.
    Email Kentuckyloan@gmail.com



    Image result for gift funds fha infographic

    Joel Lobb
    Senior  Loan Officer

    (NMLS#57916)
    text or call my phone: (502) 905-3708
    email me at kentuckyloan@gmail.com
    The view and opinions stated on this website belong solely to the authors, and are intended for informational purposes only. The posted information does not guarantee approval, nor does it comprise full underwriting guidelines. This does not represent being part of a government agency. The views expressed on this post are mine and do not necessarily reflect the view of my employer. Not all products or services mentioned on this site may fit all people. NMLS ID# 57916, (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). Mortgage loans only offered in Kentucky.
    All loans and lines are subject to credit approval, verification, and collateral evaluation and are originated by lender. Products and interest rates are subject to change without notice. Manufactured and mobile homes are not eligible as collateral.

What are the Kentucky FHA Credit Score Requirements for 2018 Mortgage Loan Approvals?

 

Getting a FHA loan in Kentucky in 2018 you will be confronted with minimum credit score requirements set forth by FHA and the lender. Even though FHA will insure the mortgage loan at a certain credit score, you will see that lenders will create  “credit-overlays” to protect their risk and ask for a higher credit score.

So keep in mind when you are getting a FHA loan in 2018 some lenders will have higher credit score minimums in addition to the FHA Mortgage Insurance program.

For a Kentucky Home buyer wanting to purchase a home or refinance their existing FHA loan, FHA requires a 3.5% down payment and the borrower must have a 580 FICO Credit Score. If the score is below 580, then you would need 10% down and still qualify on a manual underwrite.

You must have a FICO score of at least 500 to be eligible for an Kentucky  FHA loan. If your FICO score is from 500 to 579, your down payment on the loan is 10 percent of the loan.

If your FICO score is 580 or higher, your down payment is only 3.5 percent. If your credit score is less than 580, it may be more cost effective to take the necessary steps to improve your score before taking out the loan, rather than putting the money into a larger down payment.

How do they get the credit score:  There are three main credit bureaus in the US. Equifax, Experian, and Transunion. The three scores vary but should be relativley  close as long as the same creditors are reporting to the same bureaus.

You will get a variation in the scores due to all creditors or collection companies don’t report to all three bureaus. This is why they take the mid score.  So if you have a 590 experian, 680 equifax, and 620 transunion, your qualifying credit score would be 620

Based on my experience with lenders that I deal with in Kentucky on FHA loans,  most lenders require 620 middle credit score for consideration for loan approval.

How do they get the score:  They take the mid score, so if you have a 590 experian, 680 equifax, and 620 transunion, your qualifying score would be 620.

 

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Kentucky FHA Loans with less than 620 Score

If your score is below 620, a manual underwrite is where the AUS (Automated Underwriting System) refers your loan to an human being, and they look at the entire file to see if they can overturn and approve the mortgage loan because the Desktop Underwriting Automated Software could not approve you.

With scores below 620, they typically will want to verify your rent history, have no bankruptcies in last two years, and no foreclosures in the last 3 years.

If you have had any lates since the bankruptcy this will probably result in a denial on a refer manual underwrite file.

Your max house payment will be set at 31% of your gross monthly income,  and your new house payment plus the bills you are paying on the credit report cannot be more than 43%.

Typically, on scores below 620 for FHA loans, they will also look at reserves or money you have saved-up after the loan is made to try and qualify you. For example, if you have a 401k or savings account that have at least 4 months reserves (take your mortgage payment  x 4) and this would equal your reserves. They look at this as a rainy day fund and could help you keep up on your bills if you were unemployed or could not work.

Maximum FHA loan limits in Kentucky are set around $285,000 and below.

If you are looking to take a FHA loan in 2017 to buy or refinance a home in Kentucky, please contact me below with your questions about the credit score requirements and how they affect your loan approval.

 

What credit score do you need to qualify for a mortgage?

The first thing to keep in mind is that qualifying for a mortgage involves a lot more than just a credit score. While your FICO score is a very important ingredient, it is just one factor. Lenders also look at your income and level of debt, among other things.

As a rule of thumb, however, a credit score below 620 will make buying a home very difficult. A FICO score below 620 is considered sub-prime. In the past there were mortgage companies that specialized in sub-prime mortgages. Because of the challenges in the credit market over the last year or so, however, sub-prime loans have become difficult if not impossible to obtain.

A FICO score between 600 and 640  is considered fair to good credit. But keep in mind, this range of credit scores does not guarantee you will qualify for a mortgage, and if you do qualify, it won’t get you the lowest interest rate possible. Still, to buy a home aim for a score of at least 620, recognizing that other factors weigh in the decision and that some banks may require a higher score.

What credit score do you need to get a low rate mortgage?

It use to be that a score of about 720 would yield the lowest mortgage rates available. Today, the best rates kick in with a FICO score of 760. And interest rates go up significantly as your credit score drops. To give you an idea, the following table shows current rates by credit score and calculates a monthly principal and interest payment based on a $300,000 loan:

lenders will pull what they call a “tri-merge” credit report which will show three different fico scores from Transunion, Equifax, and Experian. The lenders will throw out the high and low score and take the “middle score.” For example, if you had a 614, 610, and 629 score from the three main credit bureaus, your qualifying score would be 614.
So if you only have one score, you may not qualify. Lenders will have to pull their own credit report and scores so if you had it ran somewhere else or saw it on a website or credit card you may own, it will not matter to the lender, because they have to use their own credit report and scores.
Lastly, lenders will pull your credit report for free nowadays so this should not be a big deal as long as your scores are high enough.
offered by FHA, VA, USDA, Fannie Mae, and KHC all have their minimum fico score requirements and lenders will create overlays in addition to what the Government agencies will accept, so even if on paper FHA says they will go down to 580 or 500 in some cases on fico scores, very few lenders will go below the 620 threshold.
If you have low fico scores it may make sense to check around with different lenders to see what their minimum fico scores are for loans.
The lenders I currently deal with have the following fico cutoffs for credit scores:
As you can see, 580 is the minimum score with most lenders for a FHA, VA, or Fannie Mae loan, and 640 is required for the no down payment programs offered by USDA and KHC in Kentucky for First Time Home Buyers wanting to go no money down.

A Complete Guide to Closing Costs

Joel Lobb
Senior  Loan Officer
(NMLS#57916)
 Company ID #1364 | MB73346

 unnamed (2) (1)

text or call my phone: (502) 905-3708
email me at kentuckyloan@gmail.com

The view and opinions stated on this website belong solely to the authors, and are intended for informational purposes only. The posted information does not guarantee approval, nor does it comprise full underwriting guidelines. This does not represent being part of a government agency. The views expressed on this post are mine and do not necessarily reflect the view of my employer. Not all products or services mentioned on this site may fit all people. NMLS ID# 57916, (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). USDA Mortgage loans only offered in Kentucky.

All loans and lines are subject to credit approval, verification, and collateral evaluation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Joel Lobb
Senior  Loan Officer
(NMLS#57916)
text or call my phone: (502) 905-3708
email me at kentuckyloan@gmail.com
The view and opinions stated on this website belong solely to the authors, and are intended for informational purposes only. The posted information does not guarantee approval, nor does it comprise full underwriting guidelines. This does not represent being part of a government agency. The views expressed on this post are mine and do not necessarily reflect the view of my employer. Not all products or services mentioned on this site may fit all people. NMLS ID# 57916, (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). Mortgage loans only offered in Kentucky.
All loans and lines are subject to credit approval, verification, and collateral evaluation and are originated by lender. Products and interest rates are subject to change without notice. Manufactured and mobile homes are not eligible as collateral.


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FHA STREAMLINES REFINANCE GUIDELINES IN KENTUCKY 2015

FHA STREAMLINES REFINANCE GUIDELINES IN KENTUCKY 2015.

7 Major FHA Rule Changes – Effective June 15, 2015

As you probably know, HUD has scrapped their old underwriting handbook and has re-written the whole darn thing which they will be implementing on all case numbers order on or after June 15. What they DIDN’T do was indicate which rules were CHANGED significantly from the previous handbook. We compared both the old and the new handbook and found 46 rule changes. Here are seven of them.

Earnest Money

Old Rule – Document source of earnest money if the amount exceeds 2% of the sales price

New Rule – Document source of earnest money if the amount exceeds 1% of the salesprice

CAVIRS

Old Rule – Federal debt makes borrower ineligible

New Rule – VERIFIED federal debt makes the borrower ineligible

Part-Time Income

Old Rule – Underwriter discretion allowed when received less than 2 years

New Rule – Two years uninterrupted part-time income is required. Average income over prior 2 years or use 12-month average of hours at the current pay rate if the lender documents an increase in pay rate.

Rental Income on Retained Primary Residence

Old Rule – Rental income may be counted when relocating outside of reasonable commute distance for job and borrower has 25% equity.

New Rule – Rental income may be counted when relocating and the new residence is at least 100 miles from previous residence. If no history of rental income since the last tax filing, borrower must have 25% equity.

Non-taxable income

Old Rule – Gross up using tax rate evidenced on last tax return. If borrower did not filea return, use tax rate of 25%.

New Rule – Gross up using the greater of 15% or actual tax rate. If borrower did not file a tax return, use tax rate of 15%

Installment Debts Less Than 10 Months

Old Rule – May be excluded from ratios. If manual underwrite—may be excluded if debt will not affect ability to pay the mortgage.

New Rule – May be excluded ONLY if—they have cumulative payment of less than or equal to 5% of the borrower’s gross monthly income AND the borrower may not pay the debts down to achieve this percentage.

Multiple FHA Loans

Old Rule – If relocating for employment, borrower may obtain a second FHA loan for a new principal residence if current residence is more than a reasonable commute to new residence.

New Rule – If relocating for employment, the commuting distance between the old residence and new residence must be more than 100 miles.

Source: Mortgage Currentcy


Joel Lobb (NMLS#57916)
Senior  Loan Officer

 

via FHA STREAMLINES 

EFINANCE GUIDELINES IN KENTUCKY 2015.